From One Dreamer to Another

So when I began this blog, I really had no idea what I wanted from it. I tossed around the ideas of telling stories about my tables, strictly sticking to a counseling blog, maybe just stick to my old one that I would write in every once in a while. Basically, I was clueless.

A couple months in I still can’t say I have it all figured out, but I do have more an idea of what I’m doing now (even it’s a vague idea). Before all my posts, I still get a little bit of anxiety. I wonder if I phrase things correctly or if people will like what I write.  

One of my biggest fears was lacking originality, so I searched high and low for blogs similar to mine.

I found quite a few under the restaurant category, but they all left a sour taste in my mouth. I already knew that servers hated their job; I didn’t need blog after blog telling me how awful it was. It wasn’t until I ran across The Real Barman that I found myself intrigued. Dripping with an enthusiasm for dry humor and writing, I read his post Drunk Talk of the Week: Presidential Candidates. I was hooked. I scanned the rest of the blog vaguely, stopping when I saw something that caught my eye before deciding to subscribe.

I often get shit from my boyfriend for never laughing during funny parts on movies. But this blog had me laughing out loud and itching to read more. After a couple weeks, I decided to reach out to him and ask for a link exchange. I wasn’t exactly sure how it worked or what the proper etiquette for doing a link exchange was, but he was extremely polite and supportive with the following advice:

Hi Morkee. Thanks for the kind remarks. Sure, let’s do it. I’ll go ahead and put your link up by tomorrow in my blog roll. I’ll check you out every so often and see how you’re doing, and don’t be afraid to blog about stuff outside the serving world once in awhile. Be personable and let people know who you are. People like that. Good luck.

The RB

No matter the size of the gesture, his kindness gave me a bit of reassurance. I don’t know if he reads my blog or ever will; frankly, it does not matter. The gesture reminds me that there are still down-to-earth people that don’t have their noses too high in the clouds. So here’s to you, TRB. 

And for the rest of you fulfilling dreams out there (writing or not), here’s to you. Keep going after your dreams; no one but you can make them happen.

Leave a Reply

